1 Year Anniversary!

What a ride this has been! I can’t even believe that I’ve been here for a year now today. It seems so unreal. The longest I’ve been outside of Germany was for 5 days! I’ve spent all of my time in this country.

I remember my nerves when I first got here but I felt like I could handle it. Exploring the city and getting lost…at night…on my first day here is something I’ll never forget. Then I started Orientation for Grad School and meeting a lot of cool, new people. Little did I know, I made some pretty awesome friends that I’ll probably keep in touch with for a long time. I finally met my roommate after a few days and then being nervous that he didn’t speak English, but he did! Even though he’s in the US now (Seattle, Washington) we still chat.

Then I hit a roadblock that really put a damper on all things German. From racial slurs, to cloudy and dark weather, and homesickness I began to sink into a depression. I can pinpoint the exact time in my blogposts that I felt depressed. It wasn’t a good feeling but at the start of the new year I decided it was time for a change.

Overtime, I came out of my depression and was just missing home. I’ve never spent this long away from home before. I’m sure you can tell I miss it since I keep saying, “I wish I was home but o well.” However, I know that by being here I’m forcing myself to grow-up into a better man than I was before coming to Germany.

I’m currently in a state of comfortableness. I actually really enjoy Germany now. I’ve met a lot of cool people, Germans included. I play volleyball a lot now, which was one of my goals for the year. I’m understanding more about the real me and it’s fantastic. I read a lot of books, draw more, try new foods, open myself up to the unknown, attempt to speak the language, and much more.

As my time in Germany is rapidly coming to an end, I’m having to think about my future. I know that I want to work in the education sphere but I also want to think more about a Ph.D.

Life is a whirlwind but I love it. My one piece of advice is to never give-up. Stick with it for as long as you can, as long as it’s right for you. Don’t keep digging into a never ending hole. You know deep down when you’ve done all that you can and it’s time to stop. Listen to your inner voice and it won’t lead you astray.

Anyway, that’s all I got for you today. I’m starting my thesis preparation now. I’ll post another video on Monday, promise! I hope you all have a wonderful day. Follow your dreams and never give-up. Peace, love, and happiness! -Tony

Leave a Reply

