Bad Dürkheimer Wurstmarkt

Hello my fellow readers! I apologize for not posting anything last week but I didn’t do anything besides volleyball and writing my papers. Kind of hard to post something exciting even though I’m truly enjoying myself.

Anyway, last week I went to Bad Dürkheim for their Wurstmarkt. This event is the world’s largest wine festival but I went for the carnival aspect of it. My friend Nao and I went with a group of thirty other students to this event. We ended up going off on our own since we’re not big on drinking.

When we first got there I was bombarded with lights and colors and it was amazing! I felt like a little kid again. There were rides and games for people of all ages. We did an initial walkthrough of the area to scope out what we wanted to see and do. Then it was time to execute our plans for complete and total fun. We started off on the bumper cars. We chased after kids and slamming into their cars while simultaneously get rammed into ourselves. Pure childish joy. Then we went for dinner and got two bratwurst (German sausages).

It was finally dark enough to go on the Ferris Wheel. I love rollercoasters and whatnot but sitting still in the air on a Ferris Wheel is no fun. As the ride goes around a few times we heard a load bang. I look behind me on the ride and saw that there were fireworks going off! They turned off the lights in the park and kept shooting off fireworks…as we were in the air! It was terrifying but exhilarating.

Once it all stopped, we grabbed some snacks. I got some freshly made donuts that melt in your mouth and Nao tried some blueberry chocolate covered fruits. We got on one last ride and headed back home.

Overall, I really enjoyed being at the park. It was so much fun and I can’t wait to go to another carnival or theme park in the future. I’m curious to know what I’ll write about next week but I’ll figure it out. Peace!

Leave a Reply

