Nuremberg to Munich, Germany

Look at that, another blog post and I’m actually on time with it too! I took a trip to Munich this time around. I was pretty unsure of how it would be for me. Most people that I’ve talked to have said that they either love or hate Munich. I was pretty sure that I wouldn’t like it but I remained optimistic.

So, I decided to take a bus to Munich and on the way there, there was a two hour layover in Nuremberg (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nuremberg#Main_sights). I’ve never been there so I strapped on my shoes and took off as soon as the bus stopped. It was still pretty early for this small town so not many people were out. I ended up walking from one side of town to the other rather quickly. I walked through part of the castle and took a panoramic of the town (the first 9 pictures of Nuremberg). I enjoyed the quick stop but I had to continue on to Munich.

My bus was going to a station outside of the city center, which was rather inconvenient. So like any reasonably, young person would do, I tried to stay on the bus until the main station. Well, that didn’t work. The driver ended up doing a headcount and I pretended that I didn’t know that I was supposed to get off at that stop. When I got off I had to figure out how to get to the main station. After about 30 minutes, I got it and was on my way again.

I arrived in Munich’s city center and it was hot and I was tired. I realize now that I didn’t take many pictures so I’ll try to describe as much as I can for you.

I met up with a former professor of mine from UNC who is originally from Munich. He’s a history professor so he has in-depth knowledge of the area and boy did he give me a lot of information. We started off in Marienplatz (the fancy white building in the picture is the New Town Hall, which houses government stuff). It was full of people and shops of all kind. Then we started walking towards the English Gardens for food.

For those of you who don’t know, Munich was the headquarters for Hitler and the Nazi Party. We walked into Odeonplatz (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Odeonsplatz). There was a memorial set up there in the past and people were forced to give the Nazi salute whenever they passed through the area. We continued walking towards the university. A student protest group called the White Rose published leaflets denouncing Hitler and his regime (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_Rose). They distributed and threw those leaflets in the university atrium but they were caught and eventually executed. The squares were eventually named after the students executed and a professor that was a part of the protest (picture with the statue and flowers).

We finally ended up in the English gardens (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Englischer_Garten). It was huge. There was a lot of green space for people to lay out, play sports, exercise, and more. I ate a bretzel (a bigger version of Auntie Anne’s pretzels that you would get from the mall) and we talked about everything under the sun. The one picture with all of the green space and a small tower reminded me of the Old Well at UNC Chapel Hill. As I was taking that picture my professor told me that it was the place to get hardcore drugs back in the day. People pretty much stayed away from it at night.

As time went on, we had to part ways. I made my way back to my bus station and took a long, hard, and uncomfortable ride back to Heidelberg without much sleep. Overall, I really enjoyed Munich. I liked it mostly because of the green space. I’m a sucker for nature. I can do without all of the buildings and people around, haha. Anyway, I’ll try to have another blog up on Monday. Not sure about what but we’ll cross that bridge when we get there. Peace!

Leave a Reply

