Time Flies

As an adult, time flies. I know that I’m barely an adult but time has been flying by so fast in my life. I can’t believe that my semester is almost over. I have less than three weeks left and I’m done with classes for the rest of this program.

Since time has been flying by I have been reflecting on my time here in Germany so far. I’ve been here for 9 whole months now! Can you believe it?! It’s hard to imagine that I’ve been here that long. I’m pretty much a local. People recognize me at the grocery story and the cafeteria. I go to Starbucks so much that they know my name, and one person gave me a free drink (I must have looked like I needed it!).

This adventure has pushed me out of my comfort zone. I have been forced to grow in ways that I could not have fathomed. It hasn’t always been easy but I can say that this trip is something that I will never forget.

If you remember, I set some goals for this semester and until the end of my studies here. So here’s a quick update for you. I haven’t been studying my language skills in ways that I’ve wanted to but I have been using them. I speak German at every chance I get, even though it’s all pretty basic things. I have used Italian with a native speaker and she said I was pretty good, yay me! ASL is the one language I haven’t practiced as much. I wrote ten letters within my first week of setting my goals. I do workout and write in my journal almost every week. I still have some items left on my list, like visit the Heidelberg Castle (I promise I’ll go before I leave Mom!).

As the semester is coming to a close, I will try to keep posting anything that I do that is worthwhile. I know that I’m going to Munich the first week in August and maybe some other places too. Btw, these pictures are of Eppelheim, which is pretty close to where I live. I normally get off the tram before the line ends so this time I rode it all the way to see what was out there. I will keep exploring confidently across Germany and the rest of Europe. Peace!

Leave a Reply

