Mannheim, Germany

Sorry for the recent hiatus! I have been working on some last minute assignments for my classes next week. I also just didn’t feel like I had much to talk about.

Alas, I’m showing you Mannheim, Germany today. I know that I’ve mentioned it before but I have never shown you pictures. To be quite honest, it’s nothing special to me. However, you can never make the judgment yourself until I show you or you visit it yourself.

Anyway, Mannheim is about a 30 minute train ride away from Heidelberg. Since the moment I got here everyone has said to go to Mannheim for shopping because Heidelberg is pretty expensive and has a limited amount of stores.

Mannheim is the shopping district with stores everywhere. It reminds me of a small, less dense, version of NYC. For those of you in Tennessee, it’s like Jackson if everything was compacted together to form a shopping district. I like their bookstores because they have pretty large English book sections.

There are also plenty of clothing stores. Now, clothing in Germany is priced very odd for me. The brand Tommy Hilfiger is big in the US but you can buy it at Belks or JC Penny for $50. Here in Germany a pair of jeans by them can cost over $100! When I went shopping with my American friend we couldn’t believe what we were seeing. Affordable brands in the US were now ridiculously priced here. My German roommate says it’s because the quality is better produced here. I also factored in that the cost of living is probably lower (it is for me) and they receive higher wages ($9.50 minimum wage) so it’s a tradeoff. Needless to say I don’t shop much around here.

Well, I think that’s all for now. I’ll post before my classes start Tuesday. Take care!

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Hello Tony,
    Thanks for letting me tag along with you to Mannheim, Germany, it was interesting. I would not be doing much shopping there. I always enjoy sightseeing. I wish you the best on those papers you have to turn in when
    you go back to class. Take care and I will be ready for the next outing.
    Love your Aunt Augustine

    Like

  2. Hey Tony J.This is the first time that I have had computer on in over a week .Glad to see ypu had posted something and the photos were beautiful! You know its not the same here.,because I got use to you being around and running into you at Wal-Mart.I guess a mans got to do what a mans go to do! Love You and Take care.

    On Sat, Apr 16, 2016 at 12:59 PM, Royle Travels wrote:

    > tonyroylejr posted: “Sorry for the recent hiatus! I have been working on > some last minute assignments for my classes next week. I also just didn’t > feel like I had much to talk about. Alas, I’m showing you Mannheim, Germany > today. I know that I’ve mentioned it before but I hav” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

