New Year’s Resolutions

I gave up New Year’s resolutions three years ago and it was the best decision that I have ever made.

I was hired to be an Orientation Leader at UNC in 2013. During the first staff training, our boss told us a story about how she stopped doing News Year’s resolutions because she never would keep them past January. She started to live by a word for the entire year. She explained that you have to embody it and let it truly encompass your life for the entire year. From that moment on I decided to choose a word every year to embrace.

My first year I chose “FEARLESS.” I did not want to be scared to do the things that I have always wanted to do before. After my best friend passed away from cancer in January of 2014 I was inspired to choose “LIVE.” I chose that word because his life ended before he was able to do and achieve the things that he wanted to do. In his honor I would live for him. I would make him proud and in turn make myself proud. I would live my life to the fullest. Last year’s word was “EXPLORE” and boy was that tough. I wanted to physically, mentally/emotionally, and socially explore all aspects of my life. I wanted to travel, which is why I came to Germany, to get to know myself on a deeper level, and to be able to explore new friendships and relationships. This word took over my life and I thoroughly loved it.

My word for this year is “CONFIDENCE.” This will be my biggest challenge yet. I’m not a confident person at all and it has hindered me in multiple aspects of my life. I’m going to tackle this word in 2016. I will never forget or lose sight of my previous words either.

So I challenge you to choose a word to embody for the year. It can be any word or even a phrase. You don’t have to explain it to anyway but I think you should. It holds you accountable and always thinking about how you’re embodying your word.

Anyways, good luck on your New Year’s Resolutions or your Word of the Year! Peace

IMG_3056

Leave a Reply

