The Holiday Season

Merry Christmas everyone! This is my favorite time of the year but this is my first time being away from my family during the holidays.

To start off, the Germans get ready for Christmas around November 20. Here in Heidelberg the Christmas Markets opened November 21. I loved the markets since you could get food, buy gifts, and simply hang out with friends.

My Christmas break started on December 18 this year, which is far later than I wanted it to be. But the regular German students didn’t get out until December 23!!! That’s ridiculous in my mind. And maybe that’s why Christmas didn’t seem too real since people still had classes (and since it’s been pretty warm outside).

I wanted to be in the Christmas spirit somehow so I ended up buying a tree and semi-decorating it. That was very important to me. My room needed to feel somewhat like home since this is my first Christmas away from family.

When I woke up this morning I was happy and excited about the day like I always am. I Skyped with my mom earlier and will soon talk with my dad once I get back home. My friends here decided to get together and have a Christmas dinner so no one had to be alone for the holidays. That was very nice and definitely needed. I can’t imagine spending the holidays absolutely alone. We had a wonderful time and will be doing it again.

Although this Christmas season is very different since I’m not with my family, it has also been a great experience. This is all a part of growing up. Anyways, Merry Christmas and have a Happy New Year. Cherish your friends, families, and loved ones during the holiday season. Peace!

Leave a Reply

