Phone-less

This is the last week of classes before the Christmas Break and I’m pretty excited about it. I wish I was going home but life goes on.

Anyways, when I decided on coming to Germany I thought that I would have a phone plan to be able to easily communicate with people. The first few days I spent without a phone or internet were surprisingly pleasant. I figured that if I could handle those few days then I might not need to get a phone plan at all. So I didn’t buy one. That was by far one of the best decisions that I have made. Now don’t get me wrong, there are times that I wish that I had data on my phone to look up directions or translations. But overall, it’s been relaxing.

In the US, my phone and I were attached at the hip. Without my phone I felt lost but being in Germany without data is freeing. I take in the sights. I listen to conversations. I’m more observant, etc. 2.5 months later I caved in to get a phone plan ONLY because I needed to put a number down to order things online. After my prepaid plan ends this month I’ll probably go back to being data-less.

I encourage you to take time out of your day where you don’t use your phone or internet. Simply unplug and enjoy life as it comes. Peace!

Leave a Reply

