Paradise on Earth

Cinque Terre is my all time favorite place that I’ve been in the world. I had the best day I’ve had in a while. “Cinque Terre” translates to “five lands”in english because it’s composed of 5 different areas called, “Monterosso, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola, and Riomaggiore.”

We arrived to Monterosso at 11:15 am and were floored by its beauty. As soon as we exited the train station it opened up to the beach. The sun shined in our faces and the sounds of the waves soothed our ears. The locals had a sense of peace and joy about them and the place smelled of tranquility.

We went to our hostel to throw our stuff down and our hostess was very nice and helpful giving us tips on where to eat and what to do. On our way to our hike, which by the way was about 11miles through all five lands, we met a nice couple from Boston. Then we ran off to start our hike from Monterosso to Vernazza.

We were so pumped on adrenaline from the beauty of this place that we attacked our hike head on. Mind you that Michael just did a half marathon last month and I do Netflix TV marathon…every weekend. So to no surprise I was ridiculous to think that I could run up all of the stairs that were required to get to the next land! I made it thankfully and it was definitely worth it in the end.

Arriving in Vernazza was a breath of fresh air. We sat by the sea on some rocks and it was one of the most peaceful experiences that I have ever had. We stayed there for maybe 30mins. I almost fell asleep and we barely said a word to one another. Just being still and taking everything in was enough.

After that we hiked to Corniglia and that was much harder than the first one was! Stairs upon stairs upon never-ending stairs! But once again it was worth it. Then we took a train to Manarola because they closed the walking path due to a giant collapse of the trail. In Manarola we got food from a little random place and ordered Trofie pasta with pesto. Pesto and focaccia bread is famous in this region so we had to try both. After Manarola we took the train to Riomaggiore and then back to Monterosso because it was getting pretty dark.

Once back at Monterosso we got dinner at a place called Ristorante Moretto. The food was really good but the most important part was the tiramisu. I don’t know how they made it but it was by far the best thing I have EVER tasted! We ended up ordering another one it was so good.

I know this post was long but I loved this place so much. It was the perfect way of life for me and I definitely recommend everyone to go at some point in their lives because pictures don’t do it the justice it deserves.

Anyway, that’s all for now. We’re headed to Florence now and I’m going to meet up with an old Italian TA later, which will be nice. The trip is almost over but it’s been a blast nonetheless. Peace!

Leave a Reply

