Classes are Underway

Hey everyone! Sorry I haven’t posted anything in a while. I’ve been pretty busy with life since I got here. There were so many things that I had to do almost all on my own. I set up a bank account, registered with the city, applying for a Residence Permit Visa, finish enrolling with my school, get health insurance, and so much more! Half of this stuff was difficult and nerve wrecking because I had never done them in the states! But now I’m done with mostly everything and it’s all calming down, except for classes…

I’ve had two weeks of classes now and they have been rather interesting and not quite what I expected when I thought of enrolling here. I think the different material that I’m covering is great but there’s something unexpected about some of the classes.

So I’m taking American History from the Revolutionary War to the Civil War, Political Science (US Government), Introductory to US Law, and Human Geography. I also have a writing class, a methodology class, and a colloquium. The professors are all fantastic and passionate people about what they do. I can’t wait to work with them this semester because they bring forth so many ideas and perspectives and are truly knowledgable in their fields of study. They have all studied in the US for multiple years so they know and understand what it’s like being in our country.

When I imagined getting my Masters I thought it would be more discussion based and in-depth conversations about the material. Since we have people from a lot of different countries I was really hoping to get different perspectives from non-Americans about the American system. Unfortunately, most of my classes are not designed in that manner. It’s more of pure lecturing without any discussion on different material and that’s been a bummer. I felt like I was a freshman again taking a basic level course (which they actually are because BA students can take the classes as well. Plus, these are introductory courses).

However, I’ve had great discussions with people in my program, my roommate, and my professors (outside of lecture) about American culture and how it plays or is portrayed in the rest of the world. These conversations have been enriching for me and I love it.

With all of that being said, I have only been in classes for two weeks and professors are working out the kinks here and there. I have high hopes for future classes. Plus, I’ll always have my friends in the program to talk to on a more personal/informal level about anything and everything.

Overall, I’m ready to start researching different things within the classes themselves like the Jacksonian Era, Constitutional Law, “white flight” and black removal, and US foreign policy. But I think I’m more excited about writing my thesis. I don’t know what it’s going to be about just yet but I’m leaning towards continuing to research the Black Student Movement in Chapel Hill and recently I came across how the Black Power Movement gained interest and influence into different protest movements around the world.

Until next time, Ciao!

Leave a Reply

